Why I Chose Student Teaching Abroad

As an education major, it is hard to find time to study abroad. It is difficult to finish within four years, and doing a semester abroad will probably push back graduation. When I found out that it was an option to student teach abroad, I knew that was something I wanted to do!

Luckily, I have an amazing husband that understands why I want to leave for three months and teach abroad. The main reason that I want to go abroad is for the experience in a completely different setting. How often do teachers get an opportunity to teach in a completely different country?! Student teaching at a British boarding school and then an American public school and being able to see and experience the differences in teaching styles, curriculum, and daily school life will be tremendously beneficial for my future career. Another great experience for me abroad is to be the minority. As a white, American, female, I am rarely the minority in most environments. I want to take the chance to put myself in the position of being the “outsider” and trying to see what it feels like. I know I will have students in the future who are in that same position, and having experienced it myself, I will be able to show greater empathy for those students.

As a military family, Bryan and I have to move every 3 or 4 years. As a teacher, this is extremely difficult because my Wisconsin licence is not guaranteed to be accepted in other states.  Having the experience of student teaching abroad will be a major plus on my resume and will hopefully help me to obtain a job in the future.

These are just a few of the reasons that I want to teach abroad. I am sure that there will be many other benefits that I don’t even realize at this point!

Categories: Student Teaching | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why I Chose Student Teaching Abroad

  1. Nikki Geigel

    I wish you a lot of luck and I would say that you’re blessed to have such a unique and rewarding opportunity! Enjoy your time abroad.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

